Montgomery County Police

The Montgomery County Department of Police is a nationally accredited agency and the primary law enforcement agency for Montgomery County, Maryland.  With more than 1,300 sworn officers, assisted by over 600 support personnel, the agency provides the full spectrum of policing services to a county of over 1 million people. We are located just North of Washington DC. 

The Police Department is structured into the Office of the Chief under which is the Internal Affairs Division, and then four major bureaus: the Field Services Bureau, the Investigative Services Bureau, the Management Services Bureau, and the Patrol Services Bureau. The Patrol Services Bureau, the largest and most visible bureau in the Police Department, oversees the majority of the Department’s uniformed officers on patrol. The Patrol Services Bureau is divided into six police districts.