The City of Oklahoma City

Incorporated in 1890, the City of Oklahoma City is a charter city and has had a Council-Manager form of government since 1927. The Mayor, elected at-large, leads a Council of eight members, each
elected by ward. The Mayor and Council set overall policy and strategic priorities for the organization. Oklahoma City is the 20th largest city in the nation with approximately 687,725 residents in a four (4) county, 621 square mile area.